June 2014 Study Guide

2014 Rule Books are in!! The following questions are from the new rule book but DO
NOT INVOLVE NEW or ALTERED rules. Just the bland stuff. You can answer these
thirty questions with 2013 information. Even 2012. Why thirty? I am saving room for
emphasis on new rules and some mechanics questions. UGH! That’s right- mechanics.
And they will be hard requiring you to research what your fellow official is doing on any
given play. I just want to get into the camp season before I spring those on you. Here
goes...

1. Team B has used all it’s first half time outs. The head coach requests a time-out to
review possible misapplication of a rule. Since they have exhausted their time-outs for
the half this is properly denied. False

2. Which statement is FALSE concerning double fouls:
A. Both fouls must be during a live ball
B. Double fouls may include nonplayer fouls
C. On a play in which there is a change of possession the team in final possession
accepts the penalty for the opponent’s foul at any time during the down.

3. Which statement is FALSE concerning the basic spot:
A. The basic spot is the previous spot for a foul simultaneous with a free kick
B. There are special enforcements for the basic spot after roughing the passer but
not for kick catch interference.
C. The basic spot is the previous spot for a foul during a down in which a legal
kick occurs an inadvertent whistle ends the down prior to any team gaining
possession.

4. Illegally handing the ball forward does not involve loss of down as a penalty. False

5. A foul during a try can be combined with a subsequent dead ball foul to create a
multiple or double foul. False

6. After a free kick the kicker may not be blocked until the ball has gone five yards past
his free kick line and the kick has touched the ground. False

7. Which statement is FALSE concerning equipment:
A. Knee braces that are unaltered may be worn legally over the pants.
B. Shin guards must meet NOCSAE standards
C. Play cards cannot be worn on the belt

8. Sunglasses are legal. True

9. Which statement is FALSE:
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A. Batting is intentionally striking the ball with the arm or the hand.

B. A fair catch can be made of a free kick made from K’s 40 yard line on K’s
45 yard line.

C. Defensive linemen may clip offensive linemen in the free blocking zone
if the ball is still in the zone and they were both in the zone at snap.

10. Which statement is FALSE:
A. A forward pass has gone beyond the neural zone if at any time any
part of the ball crosses the neutral zone.
B. The snap ends when the ball touches any player or the ground.
C. A loose ball play is action during the snap of a spread formation with
the quarterback six yards deep.

11. Which statement is FALSE:
A. The quarterback stepping under center to receive the snap is considered a shift.
B. Tripping of a ball carrier is illegal.
C. An airborne player completes a recovery of a fumble only after he first
contacts
the ground with the ball in his possession.

12. The clock shall stop when a inadvertent whistle is sounded at any time. True

13. During a charged time out both teams must use the same type of authorized
conference. False

14. When the Referee calls an official’s time out for an injured player, the team with the
injured player must use an Outside the 9-Yard Mark conference while the opponent
may use a Between 9-Yard Mark conference. False

15. Which statement is FALSE concerning first touching by K on a free kick:
A. It is first touching by K if K67 touches the free kick bounding on the ground
at
R’s 40 yard line.
B. There can be more than one spot of first touching.
C. R may take the ball at the spot of first touching if they subsequently touch the
kick but do not foul after touching.

16. Any K player may catch and recover a scrimmage kick, unless it is a try, behind the
neutral zone even if the ball has hit the ground beyond the neutral zone. True

17. Team K punts from R’s 40 yard line and the kick hits near R’s goal line. K 34 bats the
ball at gthe three yard line back towards his own goal line. R21 recovers at R’s 10
yard line and runs to the 15 where he is hit an fumbles with recovery by K. R may
regain possession by taking the ball at the three yard line. True
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18. If a scrimmage kick goes out of bounds between the goal lines, it belongs to the
receiving team at the inbounds spot regardless of the down the kick was made on,
whether the ball ever crossed the line of scrimmage, whether it went out of bounds
beyond or behind the line of scrimmage or which team last touched it. True

19. First touching does not apply if the ball has come to rest on a scrimmage kick. True

20. A kicking team member may legally block a Team R member after the ball has gone
ten yards, Team K is eligible to recover the free kick or any member of Team R
initiates contact in the neutral zone. True

A10 is running a route as a receiver near the sideline. B34 pushes him out of bounds prior
to release of the pass by initiating contact on his helmet with open hands. A10 returns
inbounds, catches a legal forward pass and is tackled for a twenty-two yard gain.

21. This is a double foul. False

22. No foul by Team A. True

23. The penalty for Team B’s foul is enforced from the previous spot. True

24. The penalty for Team B’s foul is enforced from the end of the run after the pass. False
25. The penalty against Team B includes an automatic first down. raise

26. The clock starts on the subsequent ready for play signal. True

Team K punts. Replaced player R 45 does not get off the field prior to the snap in full
view of the officiating crew and is flagged by the Line Judge. R20 catches the punt
cleanly but is grabbed by the face mask by K70, spun around and remains standing after
his helmet comes off in the field of play. A whistle is blown by the Field Judge. R20 then
swings his fist at K70.

27. This is an inadvertent whistle. False

28. None of the fouls are enforced and the down in replayed. False

29. The next snap will be made by Team K as the down will be replayed. True

30. Team A will have the ball first and ten after enforcement of R20’s penalty. R20 is
ejected. False
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